Asian Christian Art Association and National Commission Culture and the Arts Ink Agreement For Art Republik Season Two

The Asian Christian Art Association (ACAA), a non-governmental organization that aims to promote art and theology, has signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MoA) with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) for the Second Season of a television program that profiles Filipino artists – Art Republik.

The NCCA, created by Republic Act 7356, ensures the widest dissemination of artistic and cultural products among its other mandates. It was likewise a partner of the ACAA for the First Season of the TV show launched on February 28, 2012.

Season Two is anchored on the ongoing phenomenon of Filipino migration with an overarching theme of

“Filipino Artists as Diasporas”. Most of the guest-artists for the season had experienced working overseas; some are currently working abroad. The show also tracks intra-migration of guest-artists from one locality to another (within the country).

Season Two consists of six thematic episodes with a one-hour running time per episode, featuring a total of 18 guest-artists. The local cultural traits used as themes are as follows: Pagkamalapit sa Pamilya or Close Family Ties for Episode 1; Bayanihan or Working Together for Episode 2; Paggalang or Respect for Episode 3; Pagbagay or Adaptability for Episode 4; Kasipagan or Hard Work for Episode 5 and; Pagmamalasakit or Expression of Concern for Episode 6.

Episode 1 features visual and performance artist Jose Tence Ruiz, musician Bob Aves, and musician and sound artist Charles Fournier. Episode 2 has filmmaker Kidlat Tahimik, visual artist Lizza May David, and photographer Arlu Gomez. Episode 3 focuses on architecture and dance with heritage architect Melva Java, architect Geolette Esguerra, and ballerina Georgette Sanchez.

Episode 4 features literary writers Tita Lacambra-Ayala, Joan Edades, and Joel Vega. Episode 5 has Steven Patrick Fernandez of the Integrated Performing Arts Guild or IPAG, theater artist Mélé Yamomo, and choreographer Agnes Locsin.

Episode 6 features National Artist for Literature Dr. Bienvenido Lumbera, National Artist for the Visual Arts Benedicto R. Cabrera, and Dr. Ramon P. Santos, music artist and Executive Director at the University of the Philippines Center for Ethnomusicology.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *