Teatro Kolehiyo ng Miriam Celebrates 34th Year with Two Plays

The Teatro Kolehiyo ng Miriam (TKM), the official theater organization of Miriam College, celebrates its 34th anniversary with a back-to-back offering of two one-act plays billed Hulapi to be staged on February 19, 20, and 27 at the Paz Adriano Building of Miriam College. Hulapi features “Symposium” written by U Z. Eliserio and Maynard G. Manansala and “Ang Goldfish ni Prof. Dimaandal” penned by Eljay Castro Deldoc. Both plays had been staged at the Virgin Labfest in 2012 and 2014 respectively. The Virgin Labfest is an annual theater festival held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP).

Hulapi, derived from the Filipino term “hula” which means to guess, aims to discover answers in the plays’ search for the truth. Truth is one of the four core values of Miriam College; the three other core values are peace, justice and integrity of creation. Hulapi is the second production of TKM for the school year (2015 – 2016) following the successful run of “Anatomiya ng Korupsyon” written by seasoned playwright, educator, and cultural advocate Malou Jacob. Jacob is an alumna of the school.

“Theater, as exemplified by TKM productions over a span of more than three decades, can be used as an effective communication tool that contributes to the broader cultural goals of the country,” Angela Cruz, Student Activities Coordinator of the Office of Student Affairs, said. Cruz added: “Beyond the humor that both plays evoke from the audience, they bring to the fore current realities that young people could relate to and learn from.” Cruz likewise lauded TKM for recently receiving the Transparency, Accountability and People’s Participation (TAP) Award from the Sanggunian ng mga Mag-aaral ng Miriam.

Actor and theater practitioner Opaline Santos is the present moderator of TKM.

The “Symposium” artistic team consists of of AC Vergara (director), Vahl Marco (lighting designer), Pat Resuta (sound designer), Kristine de Leon (set designer), Lara Labajo (props designer), and Joy Caperlac (costume designer). Actors for the production include Jon Abella (as Donald), Nikka Bales (as Alex) and Claire Uy (as the Security Guard).

The artistic team for “Ang Goldfish ni Prof. Dimaandal” is comprised of Thene de Guzman (director), Celine Calugay (lighting designer), TJ Bayoneta (sound designer), Zai San Miguel (set designer), Mhikuo Jecino (props designer), and Bea Burgos (costume designer). On the other hand, Annix Gamo (as Prof. Dimaandal), Paola Neyra (as Ms. Tugbo), Acey Aguilar (as Pasigan), Bea Burgos (as Vannie), Chi Wasan (as Prof. Caracol), and Mhikuo Jecino (as Tita Pits) compose the company of actors.

Professional actors Abella and Aguilar had also been invited to facilitate acting workshop exercises and scene studies for TKM members.

Hulapi will have five shows on the following dates: February 19 (7:00 p.m.); February 20 (3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.); and February 27 (3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.) at Room 104 of the Paz Adriano Building in Miriam College. Tickets are priced at P150.00 for MC students, P180.00 for students of other schools, and P200.00 for regular audience members.

For more information on Hulapi, please text or call (0927) 786-6202 and (0927) 451-9602.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *