Yahoo! Rocks It For The Philippines



Here are the winners of our Yahoo! Rocks It! OPM CONCERT:

Rey Floresca
Antonette Basbas
Alex Dizon
Vincent Zarate
Raquel Zarate
JayL Aquino |
Jon Tapar
rommel vivar
Jeffrey Avelino
Jona Bardelosa
Kristine Bunyi
Paul Jason Florendo
Myk Rome
Aileen Siwa

Camille Baluyot
Mona Fhe
Christine Adelle
mary janniezl tee
Kris Ryan Zara
chris paragas
Tsi Remo
Ramon Macatimpag
Ervin Romero
Jasmin Mikunug
Orlee Pasion
Tere pasion

Jennel Maquiñana
Marlon Guzman
Christina Buhay
Richard B. Donasco
Mel Bureros
Sella Goden
Annie Macatimpag
Ely Valendez
Joseph Edan Valendez
erika ordiales
dawn hazel
May Guzman
PJ Guimbarda
Janelli Dizon

You can claim your ticket from 4pm-5pm ONLY at SM MALL OF ASIA. Please look for TEN BUNYI (09194809022). Shows starts at 5:00 PM at the  SM Mall of Asia Concert Grounds.



yrocks poster (updated)
Celebrating “Original Pilipino Music“, Yahoo!, the premier digital media company, has launched Y! Rocks – a music platform for aspiring artists across the Philippines to showcase their talent via online auditions and land the chance to perform at live concerts in Manila,  Cebu  and  Davao.

With the stage set for the three grand finale events  on December 8th, 2011, the free concerts will give amateur bands and solo artistes a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to share the stage with some of the country’s top music icons including  Wolfgang, Urbandub, and Pupil.

Hosted on  Yahoo OMG!, the Philippines’ #1 celebrity and entertainment news site, Y! Rocks is now open for public voting for their favorite up-and-coming artistes. The twelve acts from each genre: rock, pop, indie, and solo, who get the highest number of votes, will be selected to enter the final stage of the competition which will be played out live across the three cities. Yahoo! viewers also have an opportunity to vote for their favorite mainstream bands to jam with the emerging artistes at the Y! Rocks concert.

“Music is a big part of Yahoo! and since launching OMG!, we have hosted a number of online music events with great success,” stated Erwin Oliva, Country Editor, Yahoo! Philippines. “In keeping with Yahoo!’s tradition of music and expanding the boundaries of mainstream listening, Y! Rocks pays tribute to the richness and diversity of ‘Original Pilipino Music’ and showcases the exceptional talent we have in the country.”

Mr. Erwin Oliva added, “We hope this musical platform will remove barriers and create opportunities for up-and-coming musicians to collaborate with the established mainstream artistes.”

Here is the complete list of performers for the Y! Rocks concert:

SM Mall of Asia (MOA)
Parokya ni Edgar, Franco, Gloc 9, Archipelago, Wolfgang, Karl Roy, Urbandub, Wilabaliw, The Dawn,Hijo, Ang Bandang Shirley, Pedicab, The Jerks, Pupil, Taken By Cars, Paramita, Stonefree, Razorback, True Faith, Sandwich, Callalily, 6cyclemind, Tanya Markova, Not So Fast, SinoSikat, General Luna, Somedaydream, Mobbstarr, Badburn, Hilera

Rico Blanco, Never The Strangers, Greyhoundz

Ebe Dancel, Salamin, Ney

To vote for your favorite artistes and receive free tickets to the concert, please visit

Y! Rocks is presented by  Manila Beer, Cebu  Pacific  and Sun Cellular.

Contest Mechanics

Submissions for breakthrough acts
Aspiring artistes must submit an MP4 video performance of an original song that falls under one of the four genres: rock, pop, indie, and soul/R&B to

Submissions must indicate the name of the band/artists, the musicians and instruments played location, genre and contact information. All audition entries must be two minutes long and should not exceed 25 megabytes.

Selection Process for breakthrough acts
All submitted entries by breakthrough artistes will go through a rigorous selection process before being open for public voting. Each venue i.e. Manila, Cebu and Davao will have 4 breakthrough artistes performing live. The most-voted finalists will gain a slot in the Y! Rocks concerts and will be notified via e-mail.

Audience voting for breakthrough acts
Yahoo! audience voting will identify the final 12 acts from the 24 shortlisted online. Go to,  log in with your Yahoo! mail account  and vote for your favorite artists in each of the four genres: rock, pop, indie, solo.

SomedayDream_RezBAMBOO center foto

Audience voting for mainstream bands
More than 40 mainstream acts are up for voting including Pupil, The Dawn, Imago, Sinosikat, Somedaydream, Bamboo, among others. To vote for your favorite band or solo artists, log into  and choose a genre: Choice Rock Act; Choice Pop Act; Choice Solo Act; Choice Indie Act. Clicking on these will take you to the polling page with multiple choices. Users must log in using your Yahoo! Mail account to vote.

Y! Rocks concert will be held  on December 8  at the  SM Mall of Asia, Manila, SM Cebu, and SM Davao simultaneously with the 12 breakthrough acts and 15 mainstream artistes performing live in each city.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *